Re-run Elections: APC, PDP add more seats to dominate 10th Senate


The ruling All Progressives Congress, at Saturday’s supplementary elections, gained three more seats in the Senate, moving its number of seats at the 10th Senate from 57 to 60.

Also, the main opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party, won three additional senatorial seats, resulting in a total number of 32 seats from the earlier 29 seats in the 10th Senate.

The APC won in Sokoto Central, Yobe South and Plateau Central Senatorial Districts; while the PDP won in  Sokoto South,  Kebbi North and Zamfara Central.

In Sokoto Central, APC candidate, Senator Aliyu Wamakko, polled  141,468 votes to defeat his close rival and deputy governor of the state, Mannir Daniya, who scored 118,445 votes.

Senator Ibrahim Bomai of the APC won in Yobe South Senatorial District, after polling 69,596 votes to defeat Halilu Mazagane of the PDP, who got 68,885.

Also, INEC declared  Diket Plang of the APC, the winner of the Plateau Central Senatorial District.

The Returning Officer,  Goman Lar, said Plang got 131,129 votes to defeat his closest rival Golkuna Gotum of the PDP, who scored 127,023 votes.

But  PDP’s Governor Aminu Tambuwal won in Sokoto South with 100,860 votes. His closest rival Senator Ibrahim Danbaba, came behind with 97,884 votes.

Similarly, in Kebbi North, PDP’s Senator Yahaya Abdullahi and former Minority Leader, won with 98, 464 votes while the APC polled, 89, 269 votes.

In Zamfara Central, PDP’s Ikra  Bilbis won with 102,866 votes to defeat his closest challenger, Senator Kabiru Marafa of the All APC, who scored 91,216 votes in the election.

Labour Party got eight seats, New Nigeria People’s Party got two seats, Social Democratic Party, had two seats, the All Progressive Grand Alliance and Young People’s Party got one seat each.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *