Oyegun Announces Adebowale As UI New VC

Share on Social Media

Former National Chairman of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) Chief John Oyegun has announced Professor Kayode Adebowale as the new Vice Chancellor of the University of Ibadan.

Oyegun made this announcement on Thursday.

Our correspondent recalls that the institution, which was established in 1948, was thrown into a series of crisis over the appointment of a substantive VC in 2020.

The tenure of the immediate VC, Professor Idowu Olayinka expired on November 30th, 2020.

READ ALSO: Father Hacks Son To Death In Enugu

The institution appointed acting VC, Professor Babatunde Ekanola, due to the failure of the stakeholders to appoint a substantive VC.

Ekanola assumed office on December 1st, 2020.

Benco news recalls that the governing council of the institution had earlier shortlisted eight contestants.

The eight professors were shortlisted among the sixteen candidates who applied for the position.

Benco news reports that among the shortlisted candidates for the position included the immediate Past Deputy Vice Chancellor (Academic) Professor Adeyinka Aderinto.

Aderinto, who is the immediate past Head of Department of Sociology, topped the list of eight candidates shortlisted by the Governing Council of the University of Ibadan led by Oyegun.

Other contestants shortlisted for the position are the acting Vice Chancellor, Professor Babatunde Ekanola, Professor H. Fawehinmi, Professor O. Farounbi and Professor Babatunde Salako.

The rest are incumbent Deputy Vice Chancellor Administration, Professor Kayode Adebowale, Professor G. Aderounmu and O. Ademowo.

However, Aderinto topped the screening chat, followed by the acting Vice Chancellor Prof Babatunde Ekanola, Professor H. Fawehinmi, Professor O. Farounbi, Professor Babatunde Salako.
University of Ibadan governing council shortlists eight professors for VC position

It was gathered that the incumbent Deputy Vice Chancellor Administration, Professor Kayode Adebowale came sixth, while Professor Ganiyu Aderounmu and Olusegun Ademowo shared the seventh and 8th positions, respectively.

The governing council led by Oyegun, however, announced Adebowale who came sixth as the substantive VC of the institution.

Oyegun, who is the Pro-Chancellor and Chairman of the Governing Council of the institution, Oyegun, made this announcement at a press conference held shortly after the council screened the eight candidates.

Adebowale was until this appointment the current deputy Vice Chancellor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: