Nigeria Vs Sudan: Meet Super Eagles’ Next Opponents At AFCON 2021

Sudan AFCON 768x372 1 696x337 1
Share on Social Media

Sudan play Guinea-Bissau, Nigeria, and Egypt in Group D of the Africa Cup of Nations in Cameroon from January 11.

In their first match, Sudan drew against Guinea-Bissau 0-0 as Judilson ‘Pele’ Gomes missed a penalty.

Falcons of Jediane (Sudan)’s next opponents are the super Eagles of Nigeria. The match is expected to be played on Saturday at the Stade Roumdé Adjia in Garoua.

Meet Super Eagles’ next opponents at AFCON 2021

READ ALSO: Mo Abudu Responds To Negative Feedback On “Chief Daddy 2″

Popular name: Jediane Falcons

Rankings: 33 Africa, 125 world

Captain: Salah Nimr

Coach: Burhan Tia

Qualifying results: Sao Tome e Principe 4-0 2-0, South Africa 2-0 0-1, Ghana 1-0 0-2

Scorers: 3 – Mohammed Abdelrahman, 2 – Seife1din Malik, 1 – Ramadan Agab, Muhammad al Rasheed, Ahmed Hamid, own-goal: Jordao Diogo (STP)

Previous appearances: Eight

Best placing: Champions 1970

Record: This is Sudan’s first Africa Cup of Nations appearance since 2012. They won the tournament in 1970 but since then have only won one of their 13 matches (D5 L7). Their last clean sheet in the tournament dates back to the 1970 final against Ghana (1-0).

Strongman: Mohamed Abdelrahman
Sudan’s Mohamed Abdelrahman scored a third of his team’s goals during the qualifiers for the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations (three out of nine), finding the net in each of Sudan’s last three matches.


Goalkeepers: Ishag Adam, Ali Abu Eshrein (both Al Hilal), Muhammad Mustafa (Al Merrikh)

Defenders: Muhammad Abdullah Hussein, Salah Nimr (both Merrikh), Muayyad Abdeen (Alamal Atbara), Ammar Mohammed Kano (Hay al Wadi), Amjad Ismail (Al Ahly Shendy), Muhammad Kesri (Hay al Arab), Mazen Muhammadin (Tuti), Mustafa Ahmed Saeed (Damac/KSA).

Midfielders: Juma Abbas, Walieldin Khedr, Abdel Raouf Yaqoub (all Hilal), Mohamad al Hajj Komi, Mojtaba Al-Mardi, Muhammad Nour (all Ahly Shendy), Suleiman Hamid Ahmed, Captain Bashir (both Alamal Atbara), Dia Al-Din Mahjoub, Muhammad al Rasheed (both Merrikh), Yasin Hamed (Nyíregyhaza Spartacus/HUN), Al-Sadiq Hassan (Al Shorta Elgdarief), Sheikh Muhammad al Hassan (Khartoum Alwatani), Ali Muhammad Hassoun (Hay al Wadi), Mohamad al Mundhir Qaddafi (Al Hilal al Obeid), Suleiman Zakaria (Hay al Arab).

Forwards: Muhammad al Mustafa, Al Jezoli Nouh (both Merrikh), Mohamed Abdelrahman (Hilal), Musab Ahmed Sharif (Hilal al Obeid), Awad Zayed (Al Ahly Khartoum)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: