Buhari Orders Immediate Dispatch Of Flood Reliefs To 12 Affected States

President Buhari

President Muhammadu Buhari has directed that assistance be rendered to 12 states most ravaged by the seasonal rains.


A statement by presidential spokesperson, Garba Shehu, said the Nigerian leader gave the directive on Saturday, October 17.


After taking stock of the flood situation in the country, President Buhari directed an emergency team be dispatched immediately.

READ ALSO:  Save The People – Aisha Buhari Shares Powerful Message Amid Protests


The states to receive the teams conveying reinforcement of reliefs and other equipment through the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA) are: Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Kogi, Edo, Anambra, Delta, Kano, Jigawa, Rivers, Bayelsa and Adamawa.


Some of the states that have been reached with the first wave of support from the Presidency are: Kebbi, Niger, Kwara, Sokoto, Jigawa and Kaduna.


President Buhari expressed the nation’s sympathy to the victims of the floods, many of whom had lost family members, homes and valued investments in agricultural crops and livestock.


He reiterated the need for coordination between the federal and state government agencies dealing with the issues, and for improved forecast and warning systems to avert further calamities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *