Ballon d’Or 2023: Messi Beats Haaland To Win Award For Record Eighth Time


Lionel Messi was named the 2023 Ballon d’Or winner.

The 36-year-old has now taken home the prestigious award for a record eighth time.


Messi fought off competition from Manchester City striker Erling Haaland and Paris Saint-Germain’s Kylian Mbappe.

READ ALSO: Ballon d’Or 2023: Osimhen Finishes 8th In Final Rankings

His triumph comes largely on the back of his exploits with his country in Qatar.


Former Manchester United player and Inter Miami co-owner David Beckham handed his prize signee the award in Paris.


Haaland, who scored 52 goals last season as City won the treble in 2022-23, finished second in the voting and won the Gerd Muller Trophy given to the best striker of the year.

Cristiano Ronaldo has won it five times, while Michel Platini, Johan Cruyff and Marco van Basten are three-time winners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *