ASUU, SSANU, And NASU Are Banned By Ekiti University Due To Crises

Share on Social Media

All of the staff unions at the Bamidele Olumilua University of Science and Technology, Ikere Ekiti, which is owned by the Ekiti State Government, have been banned.

The unions’ actions, according to the acting registrar B.S. Momoh, were detracting from the university’s development vision and mission, so the action was required.

Momoh described the affected organizations as Academic Staff Union of Universities, Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Universities, and Non-Academic Staff Union of Universities in a communication to the university community headed, “Proscription of staff unions in BOUESTI.”

READ ALSO:Oyetola Shows Sympathy To The Family After The Passing Of The Ex IGP Balogun.

Since the unions’ protest on June 2 against the Governing Council’s operations, he claimed, there has been “one day one trouble” at the institution.

“The management regards these behaviors as unworthy of and unexpected of responsible staff employees disguising themselves as union activists,” Momoh said.

“BOUESTI, being a new university, most definitely does not require these diversionary activities if it is to properly develop and achieve its intended vision and goal. Therefore, it is crucial to make sure that reckless behaviors like these are not tolerated at our university.

“The three trade unions in BOUESTI—ASUU, SNANU, and NASU—are now prohibited with immediate effect following a review of the incidences and in accordance with the governor of Ekiti State and visitor to the university’s directive.

Staff members are hereby ordered to carry out their regular responsibilities fearlessly and to refrain from engaging in illegal activity.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.